Shawn Brink, Part Two

Welcome back to Shawn D. Brink, author of the Space Between trilogy.  A few days ago, PART ONE of his interview was posted.  Today, we talk some more, as Hell on Earth, Book Three of the trilogy, comes out on Kindle and for all electronic devices.

One reason I liked your book is this:  Some authors try to influence or sway readers, to politicize a point, so to speak, while I felt I was just reading a story--what happened to these people.  What projects are you currently working on?

I'm currently on the final edits for a supernatural thriller in the tradition of Frank Peretti and Dean Koontz.

 I also have a novelette (about 10,000 words) being released in the near future to be available on  Kindle and other electronic formats.

In addition, I am working on a YA thriller influenced by my childhood in Norfolk, Nebrasks.



That's a lot going on!  Is writing your sole career?

My sincere hope is that someday I can be a full time writer.  I'm not there quite yet, but well on my way.  Currently, besides writing, I work in sales for a marketing organization.

What tips would you offer to anyone writing fiction for the first time?

If you write that first piece and feel a passion for it, then never stop.  Continually work at perfecting your craft.

How much of your writing is research vs. experience?

For me, it's a combination of both.  The Space Between trilogy deals with things like the apocalypse, multiple dimensions, and the occult.  If these topics are to be written about in a believable fictional setting, then research is a must.

How did you come up with your title?

The Space Between refers to a space between dimensions, but also has deeper connotations which different readers have brought to my attention after reading my books.  For example, for some, the term refers to the space between good and evil.  Others have told me that they felt it alludes to the distance that mankind has created between himself and God.

All good points and interesting aspects of the title.  What books have influenced you the most?

The Bible, The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis, The Fall of the House of Usher, by Edgar Allan Poe, and pretty much anything written by Dean Koontz.  More recently, I have really enjoyed This Present Darkness, by Frank Peretti and Showdown by Ted Dekker.

The Chronicles of Narnia is a huge favorite of mine, too, as is Ted Dekker.  What can we look forward to in your next book?

Pets for Legion is a supernatural thriller.  When Sasha Jones rescues a child from a mysterious assailant, she unknowingly marks herself as the next target.  Who is this enemy and what is this dark magic he possesses?  If she is to escape, she will need to search deeper than the physical and pray for power far deeper than the natural.

It sounds exciting!  Is there anything we haven't covered that you would like to include?

Just that I am thankful for my growing readership.  For those of you who have enjoyed the first two books of The Space Between, the third will not disappoint!

MEET SHAWN:

Shawn D. Brink was born in Clovis, New Mexico, but has lived in eastern Nebraska since he was five.  He holds an undergraduate degree in Secondary Education from Wayne  State College and a graduate degree in Management from Bellevue university.  His interests (besides writing) include church, playing guitar, and spending time with his wife and four children.

It was during his time as a student at Wayne that he attempted his first novel.  That manuscript was never published, but it infected Shawn with an incurable writing virus.  Shawn has since had many stories featured in various publications. Hell on Earth is his third published novel, and complete the Space Between trilogy.
Visit Shawn at his WEBSITE FACEBOOK TWITTER PUBLISHER
To buy Shawn's other books: The Space Between The Devil's Revenge

I'll be reading and signing books February 10, 2017 at Magers and Quinn with Genny Kieley.
There is currently a giveaway going on at my facebook page for a Team Shawn or Team Angus t-shirt.  Leave a comment here or there to be entered.


To learn more about my books, click on the images below.

If you would like to follow this blog, sign up HERE
If you like an author's posts, please click like and share
It helps us continue to do what we do

If you liked this article, you might also like
Genny Kieley, Book Signing, Dan Blum,
or other posts under the AUTHOR INTERVIEWS label

 

Comments